Scrumptious Cinnamon Porridge


This is my weekend breakfast and look forward to it all week 🙂 It’s also one I make for any friends who happen to stay over. It seems to work every time. No complaints so far.

I originally found this recipe in a weight watchers recipe book my mum had. I’ve pretty much stuck to the recipe, however there may be a few tweaks here and there.

The great thing about oatmeal is that its filled with essential vitamins, it’s an excellent source of soluble fibre. It wonderfully slows down your digestive system making you feel fuller for longer.  Perfect if you are trying to watch what you eat.

Also, The options of preparing oats are endless. I like to keep it simple.  I don’t like overdoing it with mountains of mixed dried fruit as, for me, it spoils the goodness.  What I have been doing lately is adding fresh/frozen blueberries, just before the oats come to the boil.  Another power food I can’t seem to get enough of.  They don’t overpower, but offer small subtly flavoured bubbles, which delightfully pop in your mouth with almost every bite.

Give them a go.

If you have any other variations you need to share, please leave a comment.  I will take any excuse to make a bowl of oats.

This one is for you Sofie x

Ingredients

quantities for 1 serving.

1/4 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup milk
1 tsp cinnamon
1 banana
a few raisins
drizzle honey to taste

How to:

1. add oatmeal, water and milk to the pan
2. turn heat to medium and stir continuously
3. add cinnamon.
4. Bring to the boil stir and watch it thicken.
5. When its bubbling and nice and thick but still soupy turn off the heat and pour into a bowl
6. Chop your banana on the top then sprinkle the raisins.
7. If, like me you have a big sweet tooth drizzle a little honey to finish.

Enjoy 🙂

Variation : Instead of banana grate 1/2 an apple and add it to the oatmeal when cooking.

9 thoughts on “Scrumptious Cinnamon Porridge

  1. I finally made it. So good! I think the proportion of 1-4 oats to liquid was the biggest surprise but it really works. My little twist was to stir in the raisins a little before turning off the heat. Makes them go soft and sweet!

  2. Recently, I used Ginger instead of the cinnamon. I had no apples, so chopped up some strawberries and scattered then in top.
    This combo = heaven in your mouth and tummy.

  3. Just had it again this morning! Love it! Can’t wait to go home and start really working majime through your recipes 🙂

    • Meeeeeee too! It’s love♡ looking forward to hear what you think about the rest of my recipes. On the look out for new inspiration constantly. Anything you have been craving lately?

  4. Me again. This recipe really does have endless variations. This morning I had been planning to make your blueberry tofu smoothie (AGAIN!) but feeling a bit cold – isn’t it surprising, yet lovely, thinking of how they are still boiling in Japan, how quickly the seasons turn here – so I turned it into porridge, adding frozen blueberries. Of course it was lovely, including a very nice lilac colour for the thing. Add a drizzle of freshly imported Latvian buckwheat honey and you’re in heaven. Pic here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/missofie/4948653539/

    • wow sofie! Looks delightful. Much prettier than mine 😛 So did you just follow the same recipe except just adding the blueberries? Whenever I add blueberries, it never turns such a lovely lilac colour like yours did 😦 What quantity of the beautiful berries did you add to one portion? I also love your evident love for cinnamon too 😀

  5. I love porridge but haven’t had it for ages because I’ve been so obsessed with Muesli lately. You should try mashing the banana and mixing it in thoroughly with the oats. It makes every mouthful taste banana-ry and amazing! haha

    • NICE!! I am craving porridge like crazy! But since arriving in Korea, I haven’t been able to find any that isn’t soaked in sugar! However, when I do, I am very much trying the mushy banana version 🙂

Leave a Reply

