Juicy grilled Mushroom, Aubergine and Asparagus Salad on a bed of Spinach.


What a long title.  Maybe I should reconsider that one?

Anyway, this was last nights dinner.  I love warm salads and grilled veg.  This one is a keeper.

I bought some fresh locally grown beefy shitake mushrooms from our local supermarket.  Wow..the juiciness the bursting flavour.  In my opinion they win hands down on any mushroom I have ever eaten.  I never dressed them in anything.  The only addition was olive oil which I used to grease the grill pan.  Wonderful.  Oh how I love fresh veggie’s.  They beat meat any day in my opinion.

I’ll never call myself a vegetarian, I just have a love for the beautiful veggies ♥♡

So here it is my salad if the month, enjoy.

Ingredients;

  • A bunch of spinach washed and shredded thickly
  • 1 carrot, peeled into slithers
  • 8 green Olives dices
  • 8 cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 10 small beefy mushrooms of your choice
  • 1 medium aubergine, cut into discs
  • 1 cup of soy beans or any bean of your choice
  • 1 bunch of asparagus
  • a splash of olive oil

Dressing for the spinach and carrots:

  • 1 tsp honey
  • a plash of oliveoil
  • a splash of apple cider vinegar
  • a sprinkle of freshly cracked pepper

Directions:

  1. grease your grill pan with a little olive oil
  2. Cut the spears off of the asparagus and set aside
  3. chop the asparagus stocks evenly
  4. place all of your veggies and beans out evenly
  5. cook on medium heat, turning occasionaly
  6. In the mean time assemble the rest of the ingredients in a bowl and cover with the vinegar dressing.  Allow the salad to sit and the flavours to mingle.
  7. When the veggies are cooked nicely, turn off the heat.
  8. Steam the asparagus spears gently.  You want them to be a little crunchy.
  9. Dress 2 plates with the spinach salad then evenly place the grilled veggies on top
  10. Garnish with an umeboshi and the asparagus spears then serve.
Leave a Reply

