Purple Birthday Cake Update


Ok, so here is the update on the beautiful eggplant cake I found.

Well, I followed this recipe, however I forgot to add the 1/2 cup honey…doh!  Not really getting off to a great start here.

At first the blueberry purée was the most wonderful colour then I added the grated eggplant.   At that point the colour began to lose its vibrance.    I was still insistent on continuing, so added the wet stuff to the dry stuff.   I really should have trusted my painting knowledge on that of course when you add white to a dark blue it WILL become a light grey blue.   And yep, that’s exactly what happened.   Again I was still determined to finish what I started and make the most of this grey mess, so I hopped on my bike covered in flour and my face splashed with blueberry juice then cycled to the nearest supermarket to pick up some red food colour.

Yep, I was more concerned about it looking better than it tastes and gave in to the unnatural colourings.

I proceeded to doctor up the batter and voilà, the colour changed from grey to a dark eggplant purple.  Lovely 🙂  At that time I wasn’t aware of the lack of sugar in my cake and transferred the batter to the rice cooker.   Switched to 50mins then got stuck into the dishes.  I had a wee taste of the batter and it tasted really bitter from the eggplant skin!!  It wasn’t sweet AT ALL!! ahhhhh!

So here it is, the cake is now out of the oven (not looking very purple), smelling like vegetables!  I probably should take that as a sign that it’s going to taste like that too, but I’m still not giving in!

What I have done right is the frosting. It’s out of this world.  Soooo easy to make and tastes super naughty in a great way.   I’m hoping the frosting will save me.  What do you think?

Hmmm I’m not so sure.  I’ll wait till the morning and see how it looks and smells.   I think I’m hoping for a miracle to happen over night.  Who knows?

I’ll let you know how it goes.  Wish me luck!

♥ Suzie

One thought on “Purple Birthday Cake Update

  1. Since writing this post, this stupid cake has been on my mind. I decided to change it from round to square so I could have Andy be my guineapig. I carefully cut off the edges, smeared a little of the frosting on a small piece and passed it to Andy for examination.
    The verdict: moist, nutty with just the right amount of sweetness. A little heavier than your usual sponge cake, but totally worthy for tomorrows dessert.
    Yeahyyyyyyyyyy! So happy! I still think it’s a little to heavy for me, but it is, actually, surprisingly tastey.

Leave a Reply

