An Almond Obsession


An empty kitchen = empty blog posts.  I am literally living in a shell.  I’m sitting on the floor with my laptop on a tray on my knees surrounded by nothing but bags of recycling and boxed up clothes and goodies all ready to go!  This will possibly be my last post in Japan 😦

Only 8 days till I fly back to bonny Scotland and already I am having nostalgia for my Nippon loves.

The list is a long one.  I’ll probably come back to that sometime soon, but today feeling a little rough after too many good-bye drinks.  Right now, I have a huge craving for almonds!!  I want the, lovely, delicious, raw, naturally sweet fresh crunchy ones. I could eat a bucket of them just as they are…mmmm…

(image taken from planetbeauty.com)

While I fantasize over the little beauties here is what I haven’t made yet.  My mouth is watering at the thought of it.

All thanks to Joy the baker she has made the process look so easy…perfect!

What’s more, this delicious treat remains completely guilt free.  Some even say almonds are the king of nuts 😉

They ooze goodness, a one-ounce, 160 calorie serving of almonds (about a handful) stuffed with vitamin E and Magnesium, monounsaturated fat, protein, potassium, calcium, phosphorous and iron.

No need to limit yourself to only eating this power food, they contain a nourishing beautiful skin food, vitamin E, so after making the milk, you will be left with almond remains which you can use to make a body scrub.

  1. Fill a sealable container about 2/3 full of the left over almonds
  2. add enough olive oil to make a thick paste
  3. add 1-2 tablespoons of pure honey and stir well
  4. This scrub will work fine on its own, but if you would like to add a little fragrance add your desired essential oil, just enough to meet your desired strength.
  5. Until you are ready to use it, seal the lid of the jar and store in a cool dry place.

No more time to waste, I’m off to get some supplies and get to work on this now.

Leave a Reply

